A Hole in Arizona

A Hole in Arizona

A lot of the time when I think about the Grand Canyon, I just imagine a dusty canyon. Not true.

Three things about the GC:

1. It’s. so. huge. My brain can’t wrap itself around how big it actually is unless it’s in front of me.

It’s like trying to describe what you feel when you’re standing on the rim of the Grand Canyon or remembering your first love or the birth of your child. You have to be there to really know what it’s like. -Jack Schmitt

2. Each level is so different. The bottom is a completely different place than the top. I mean, duh, when I hike around Bloomington the tops of the hills seem a lot different than the bottoms, but still. Just from pictures you can’t tell how much variance there is.

3. It’s incredibly dark at night. The parts of Arizona I have visited in general are very dark and have the best stargazing I’ve ever seen. Love it.

Also clouds are awesome.

Baseball, it is said, is only a game. True. And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona. Not all holes, or games, are created equal.  -George Will

Leave a Reply

