A Healthy Addiction

A Healthy Addiction

Okay, addiction is a bit of an overstatement. We’ll wait on that.

In August I did my first race (besides in cross country and track in grade school). A couple of friends and I did the Warrior Dash in Crawfordsville, IN. 3.2 miles took us almost an hour and a half with the mud and obstacles, and it was awesome. The $70 registration fee was worth it, but probably only for the one time.

I haven’t done a lot of working out since then. I’ve been to the gym a couple times and maybe ran twice, but I had a lung infection for the last part of the summer so I wasn’t really interested in aerobic activity and since then I’ve felt too busy. Last weekend was the annual Jill Behrman 5k. I’ve never done it, but it’s on my IU bucket list and this year it was a color run, so of course we got a team together. It was so great! It was then that I realized running in a large group (so you can pass lots of people) is really motivating, even though I hate running socially.

Life should always be covered in extra color.

Then, for some reason, I thought of the Run the Mounds race in Anderson, IN that my mom used to do every year. She asked me to do it with her once when I was in cross country, but I thought 5 miles was too intimidating. (Still do!) She’s been feeling down in the dumps lately, so I thought I would see if she wanted to do it together this year. Not that I’m the best running partner, but being active always makes her feel better and I thought it seemed like a selfless act to finally participate.

I thought I would be relieved if she said no, because then I could laze around with the new pup all day, but I actually was determined to do it (she won’t be in town, otherwise she’d love to.) So, I’m making Steven do it with me. It’s in 9 days. I’ve never run 5 miles straight. Wish me luck! Maybe races are the motivation I need to get in shape.

5 thoughts on “A Healthy Addiction

  1. Signing up for races and different events is so inspiring and motivational! I know it definitely pushes me to stick to my goals. It’s what keeps me going! 🙂 Good luck you will do great!

    1. Wow, so many! I’m afraid to sign up for lots this late in the season because I’m a wuss in the snow…. I want to do a turkey trot either in Bloomington or Muncie though! Maybe after my race next week I’ll be ready for more. Or done forever.

Leave a Reply

