2013

2013

I’m back! Since my last post, I turned 22, passed all my finals with better than expected results, had a semi-relaxing winter break at home with my family and friends, and traveled to Costa Rica.

I wasn’t going to make any new year’s resolutions, but the more I think about it, I’ve realized I want to set some goals for myself. Here goes:

  1. Make 10 new recipes. This may seem like nothing much, but I’m quite certain I only cooked meals off a recipe twice last year. My diet is mainly pasta and couscous.
  2. Run 200 miles. I would really like to run a mini this year, but the entry fee may keep me from that, so I’ll just do it for pretend. Last year I did just a little over 70 miles in real runs, and I wasn’t exercising regularly at all. I can do this.
  3. Learn Spanish. I used to know basic conversational spanish, but apparently I have forgotten everything and when I was in Costa Rica I felt extremely inadequate. I can understand 30x more than I can speak, so this year I want to get what I knew back and more.
  4. Learn actively. It’s my last semester of college and I need to figure what I want to do afterwards. Looking into things that interest me may help open my eyes to subjects I’ve never considered.
  5. Come up with some kind of plan for my future. There are a lot of fields I’m interested in, but I don’t know anything about how to get into them. I need to use my professors as a resource while I’m still here in Bloomington and try to organize my thoughts.
  6. Do things I enjoy on a regular basis. This includes taking more pictures, hiking, birding, cooking, doing crafts, etc. Enough of this wasting my time stalking other people’s lives, I need to live my own.
  7. Keep up with current events. I don’t know much about what’s going on in the world around me. I’m going to listen to more public radio and read more papers so I can form my own opinions and be able to support them in conversation.

As a way to keep myself in check, I’m going to try to blog about as much of this as possible so I can look back and grade myself. Wish me luck!Image

Leave a Reply

