A Backwards Spring Break

A Backwards Spring Break

My grandma was moved to a nursing about a month ago. Her health has been declining for awhile and she has had dementia for the last couple of years, but we never really knew what was wrong with her until all of a sudden she had no strength left and moved to the home. I didn’t have spring break plans and the rest of my year is up in the air, so I figured I needed to go see her sooner than later, in case I missed my chance.

So, Steven packed up and went to South Dakota, where there was two feet of snow. Kind of a backwards spring break-especially since last year we went to Florida. Steven had never met that side of the family and has never been north of Chicago until now, so he was excited to see someplace new.

He made me leave at 4am so we could watch the IU game in Minneapolis before we headed to a family friends’ in St. Paul. We stopped at Town Hall Brewery and had lunch and a drink. I wasn’t impressed with any of their beers, which was disappointing.Image

They didn’t have a good TV to watch the game on, so we headed across the street to a sports bar.

Image

St. Paul was great. I love the people we stay with – my godparents (but only my sister is baptized). They’re the greatest. The next morning it was off to South Dakota. We stopped at my grandparent’s lake cabin on the way so Steven could see it. My grandpa built it all himself using white pine – it’s gorgeous. We didn’t stay long since it’s winterized and cold. I hope someday we can use it in the summer.

Image

Image

Image

I love the family history of the farm. Pretty much everyone in town has lived there their entire life, and their grandparents came over from Norway and Sweden. My grandparent’s house is the original Youngquist homestead that my great great grandparents built and my mom grew up in.

Image

Image

Tuesday morning this is what everything looked like. I don’t know how it snowed/rained to look like this on the trees but everything sparkled and it was gorgeous. Even though I spring break generally means going somewhere warm, at least it wasn’t mud season like it normally would have been there during that week.

Image

This is my dad’s old Mercedes from college. He meant to fix it up eventually and sell it, but it’s unlikely to happen anytime soon, if ever. It’s falling apart and is the home of many mice, and I lost the only key to it when I was younger. Oh well. Here it is covered in snow.

Image

And here is my cutie getting ready for a romp in the snow. Well, not quite. We just went ATVing for probs half an hour, but doesn’t he look so nice in flannel?

Image

Wednesday we borrowed my cousin’s snowmobiles and went out for awhile. It was Steven’s first time using a sled and neither of us crashed! =) It was not a bad trip overall. I made some bomb meals (swedish meatballs and creamed chicken on biscuits), made three batches of cookies for grandpa, saved an orchid from death (I have an orchid now! yay!), showed Steven around a bit and grandma seemed okay. Sad, but okay. I’ve never spent that much time in a nursing home before and it was really strange.

On the way home, we got a hotel in Madison, stopped at a couple of liquor stores, and went to Three Floyds. Steven ended up with a LOT of beer… and convinced me to buy a case of my own.

Image

Overall, it was a pretty good break. It didn’t really feel like a vacation, and I definitely have to kick some ass the last 7 weeks of this semester, but I’m excited. I’m going to try really hard to balance everything – work, play, exercise, and school – and actually succeed/not drown. I’m officially spending one final summer in Bloomington and graduating in August, which I’m pretty excited about. I wasn’t ready to leave quite yet. Time to get in gear!

Leave a Reply

