Nebraska

Nebraska

Well, I mentioned that I would be moving to Nebraska about three months ago and then never posted again – now I’m about to move back to Indiana. My internship ends in two days, just in time for me to go back for Thanksgiving. If I had to be here, I would have a lovely fakesgiving with friends, but I’m glad that I get to spend it with family.

My time here has been amazing. I learned so much about this park, myself, and my relationships. I had a truly great experience and I’m really sad to be leaving. Here’s a quick rundown:

Image

Got to Nebraska, started my job, met great new friends right away, and enjoyed living in the country for the first time.

Image

Immersed my life in homesteading history – I can relate almost anything to homesteading now.

Image

Played in the prairie, continuing its restoration.

Image

Whoops, put on the breaks! Government shutdown. What are we going to do??

Well – my neighbor and I had a few nice days of bonding where we grilled out, laid out, and went camping. I stepped feet in the Missouri River.

Image

Then, with no end in sight, I decided I should use this time to visit my grandparents in South Dakota. Well worth it. That’s the second time I’ve been without my parents, and the first I ever made the trip by myself. I’m so happy that I did.

Image

Image

Then I came home, sat around watching Netflix for about 5 days, hated my life, and finally got to return to work. Now it was the peak of autumn, and I lived off pumpkin/squash for at least a week. Squash was in my stir frys, squash was in my breakfast, squash was in my lunch, and squash was in the ravioli and quiche my roommate and neighbor and I made. Life was good.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

My roommate and I had the chance (we were forced) to go to Kansas for a day which was a fun adventure…

Image

I spent a lot of time running from this park to the other one in town, and ran 5 miles without stopping for the first time in my life.

Image

My roommate and I did a 30 minute bar crawl in Lincoln before we had a dinner date with friends to an Ethiopian restaurant (oh my god greatest meal of my life I am going to find one as soon as I get back to Indiana)

Image

I spent a lot of time next to this pond…

Image

 

And I’m gonna stop there. There is so much I am going to miss about my three months here. My roommate and I worked hand in hand 40 hours a week and had a friend group that included four others – we all got to know each other very quickly. I feel like I belong here, and yet, everyone always knew I was just going to be temporary, and probably didn’t think I’d be more than a blip in their life. I hope that doesn’t end up being true. I really do feel that I made a home for myself here at the homestead, and only in three short months. I’m proud of myself for that.

Image

 

One thought on “Nebraska

Leave a Reply

