California, here I am

California, here I am

In October, my sister asked me if I would work as her field assistant for a couple months before her undergraduate finished classes and could come. I wasn’t actively applying for jobs that would start that early and figured that this was a chance to get some experience in field work to include on my applications for the summer. And it worked! I got a job in Montana, and I think the fact that I’m here in California right now helped make me a stronger candidate, even though I hadn’t started when I had my interview. Which is think is essentially going to happen again when I start applying for jobs for the fall… which I need to think about in a month, before I start my job in Montana. The world of temporary field jobs is confusing and hectic, ya’ll.

Anywho, now I’ve been in California for three weeks and I leave in a month! It has gone so quickly. We have been to San Diego, LA, Monterey Bay, Santa Cruz, and Berkeley. Right now we don’t have the rest of our schedule set, but the idea is to go to six state park and national forest sites around all of those cities. We’re moving to a new place every three days and catching birds in between so it’s quite a whirlwind trip! My head is still adjusting to keeping track of so many tiny but super important things. Science is hard. Field science is really hard. When we camp we have to do science in the dark and there are night creatures like raccoons everywhere wanting to see what we’re doing. It’s certainly an experience.

Image

Texas

Image

Visiting family in Arizona

Image

LA

Image

Driving through the sand dunes Image

It’s cold in NorCal, guys.

Image

Beach day the first weekend in San Diego!

Image

Bear at University of California San Diego

Image

Monterey Bay

Image

We went from the sea otter exhibit to look outside in the bay and saw free and wild otters! Way cooler.

Image

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Image

Harbor Seals at Monterey Bay!

Image

A necessary and delicious California supper.

Image

The best campground we could have hoped for. We saw dolphins and seals so close!

Image

Hiking with friends in Berkeley. The green space here is amazing.

Image

Went for a run in Berkeley/Oakland and found myself atop Panoramic Hill with a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the whole San Francisco Bay!

I really am doing a lot of work here, I promise.

Leave a Reply

