Surya Namaskar

Surya Namaskar

World, I got married this month. Four weeks of wedded bliss. This crazy summer is finally winding down, and this week the changes were marked by cool, autumn-like weather that brought back memories of one year ago when I moved to Valparaiso to start a new job and was still crossing my fingers that it would mean the end of long distance soon. It has been an amazing year.

I’ve been struggling against myself a bit this summer. Seventy percent of the year I’m outside everyday on field trips, but summertime is when I’m stuck in the office all day everyday pushin’ papers. I liked this part of my job a lot more when I needed a break from the hooligans I saw every day. It has been an adjustment, and I don’t really feel that I’ve adjusted terribly well. I also moved in June, and was trying to care about the final wedding planning. Now that Steven has moved in and we’re nearing the end of that process of organizing, I have a little more time and brain space to get back to normal. A new normal.

With that new normal, I need to get back to waking up early. This spring I was getting up at sunrise and I let myself get lazy this summer even though I felt more sluggish when I slept in. I saw a post (this one) on Monday, and decided to start doing sun salutations every morning. I started on Tuesday with 3 (half) salutations, and to be perfectly honest, it was harder than I wanted it to be. I haven’t been running in a couple of months and our bed is too soft, so I have been really stiff. I have felt the improvement in my body as well as my mind in just four days of this, and plan to make this a part of my day, every day.

My morning routine used to be to dance to some fun tunes while I got ready, but with another person in the house I had to stop. I think this yoga routine will be less disruptive, and will help me improve my strength, flexibility, and mindfulness.

Leave a Reply

